Databases
The Raleigh County Library subscribes to a number of databases to assist the public in research. For information on usernames and passwords or help setting up accounts for these databases, speak to someone in the reference department at the main branch. You can also reach them at the Reference Email Address.
- Browse and even download eBook copies of some of the library's reference collection without leaving home!
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryMango Language
- Access learning tools for over 30 different languages and 15 english as a second language courses.
- View tutorials and testimonials on Mango Languages' Youtube ChannelHeritage Quest
- You’ll find U.S. federal census records, family histories, published genealogies, historical books, Revolutionary War records, Freedman’s Bank records, and more to help you trace your American ancestors’ paths across history.
- Discover your unique family history! This resource includes billions of records from around the world, including from U.S., U.K., and Canadian census and vital records, immigration and passport records, periodicals and books, photos, and more.
Ancestry Library Edition
* (only accessible from inside Raleigh County Libraries)WV InfoDepot
- Includes a number of different search indices (user name: west | password: virginia)
Magazine & Periodical Databases
Job & Career Accelerator
A resource to help you find a career you might be interested in, find jobs and internships in that career in your area, and help get you hiredGreenFILE
Offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environmentConsumer Health Complete
NoveList Plus & NoveList Plus for K-8
- Find books based on interests, similarity between authors, genre, etc.Searchasaurus
A database created for kids in grades K-3Learning Express Library
A resource to help you prepare for tests or simply improve your skills in everything from elementary math to computer skills, GED prep to U.S. Citizenship, and moreSelected WV Newspapers
Newspaper Archives
Points of View
Kids Search
A database created for kids in grades 3-8Grolier Encyclopedia: Young Readers and Older Readers
-- (login using library card number) --
EBSCO Auto Repair Reference Center
-Specific repair/maintenance information for your year, make, and model of vehicle; also general information about how auto components function, care & repair tips, and troubleshooting
-- (login using library card number) --
EBSCO Small Engine Repair Reference Center
-Engine repair information for ATVs, boats, tractors, motorcycles, personal water craft, snowmobiles, outdoor power equipment (lawnmowers, chainsaws, etc), and generators & other small enginesSalem Health*
- A searchable health database of articles concerning cancer and genetic and inherited conditions.Salem Literature*
- A searchable database of critical evaluations and information concerning classic authors and books, including:
- Jane Austen
- Gwendolyn Brooks
- Robert Frost
- Nathaniel Hawthorne
- Ernest Hemingway
- The Great Gatsby
- Tales of Poe
- To Kill a Mockingbird
Salem History*
- A searchable database of articles concerning a huge variety of historical topics.
- The 1940's in America
- The 1950's in America
- The 1960's in America
- The 1970's in America
- The 1980's in America
- The 1990's in America
- Great Athletes
- Great Lives of the 20th Century
- Great Lives of the Notorious
- Great Lives of Inventors
- Milestone Documents of American History
*access with your library card by clicking the Remote Access tab







